A Valentine Day Thought…or Five


Monday, February 14, 2005, 07:54 AM

My whole life, I have been quietly searching for something to make sense of the chaos that is existence. Why do bad things happen to good people? Why do those who cheat, lie, and break the rules, get rewarded for a job well done. Why does God seem to be there when life is going good, but abandon allow his followers to wallow in misery when life is in crisis? All of these questions and more I have sought to answer.

Then I met a woman, and nothing happened. I’ve always known that I would meet the right woman some day. A woman who would look up to me as her protector, as a provider, as the missing piece to the puzzle for her life. I always knew that there was a woman out there that God had intended for me to marry, and make a good life with. In my mind I knew that there was a woman out there that would bear my children, and support me in everything I would ever do. I was wrong. The woman I met was so much more than I could have ever hoped for.

The day she came into my life was an ordinary one. The time we spent together was no different then any other I had spent with a friend of a friend. And five years latter, we were friends ourselves. Something had drawn me to her, something I can’t explain. There was a feeling about her, an aura, of a kindred spirit. College can bring about many changes in a person, and we had gone down very different paths. However, there was something familiar about her all the same. As if we had know each other for a very long time.

Today, I am shocked and amazed at how she captivates me. The simplest thing can make me stare in awe at her. The way she laughs, the way she smiles, the way she makes silly faces, and the funny noises she makes, all punctuate the magnificent inner-beauty that she hides so carefully. Her soothing voice, her soft touch, and her deep brown eyes, bare a sense of compassion and love of the likes I have never encountered before. She is caring, endearing, and most of all she is filled with understanding.

She puts up with me. Not many women could endure the random lapses in my memory, my inability to articulate my emotions, and my propensity to argue anything I don’t understand or agree with. With grace and poise she exchanges intellectual blows with me, and can better me in a fair debate. In a loving and kind way, she tolerates my illogical and thoughtless behavior, until I realize and confess my wrong doings. In a word, she loves me.

I do not know what the future holds. No matter what the circumstances or how life plays out, I do know that she will always love me. I also know that I will always love her. I will remain faithful to her always, because there is no other that can give me the kind of love that she gives. I will be by her side though the good times and the bad times; sometimes holding her hand, other times holding her up against the strain of life. I will be her companion, her confidant, and her biggest fan, until the day that she draws her last breath.

I still have not found the answer to the questions of the universe. But it sure is nice to know that I have a partner to help my in my search, for the rest of my days. I have someone to share in the joys of triumph, and the agony of defeat. I have been blessed with someone who can discuss the meaning of life, as well as the importance of good wine. I have a person to share every aspect of my life with and to become one with. What use are the answers to the secrets of the Universe, if you don’t have someone to walk though your time in the Universe with?

~ by trinity777 on November 5, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
