And for my next stupid trick…


Posted Tuesday, July 19, 2005, 10:46 AM

I’m home sick today. Why? Simple, I’m stupid!

Let me draw a picture for you. My job has reassigned me to a new school in the heart of Menifee. It’s a brand new, still being constructed, elementary school. The buildings are all finished, but there is a small matter of running behind on getting the grass field that every elementary school has put in. So, in effect, I work at a school that has no filed, not shade, and only a black top surface in which the students have recess on. Combine this with the fact that the average high temperature in Menifee this week is 102, and you have a nasty situation.

Schools are required to have “in climate weather condition” contingencies. This means that if it get to hot, cold, rainy, windy, or just plain bad air to breath, the school has to have a plan of action for the students safety. Well, this school’s sucks. They allow the kids to be out at lunch, eating outside, and playing when the thermometer clearly reads 100 degrees out side. But they instruct the playground supervisors to makes the kids don’t run around in order to make sure they don’t over exert themselves in the heat. Try telling that to a 4th grade boy who only behaves at school because he doesn’t want his playground basketball privileges revoked, or to the little girl who feels the only thing she is good at in life is playing tetherball.

So I was out there, working with the kids during lunch. My goal was to give them things to do that would keep them from running around, and still have fun. As the councilor, I assumed it was my job to help them stay out of trouble, and this was best way to do that. By the end of the hour and a half long lunch period, I had been out in the sun and on the black top for a while. I was wearing my favorite fedora, so I felt cool. When I entered the nice air conditioned building, however, I realized just how hot my body was. So, growing up in the desert, my instincts kicked in and told me to drink a lot of water and fast.

I made it through the day, but could not stop sweating. I left half an hour early, much to the displeasure of my Principle (I’ll rant about her in another post sometime), and started the hour and fifteen minuet commute home. When I got to my Fiancé’s house, I had a head ach. I drank a glass of water, and she recommended I take a nap because we had not got much sleep the night before. I did, and when I awoke an hour latter I was sick to my stomach.

Tow hours of non-stop water consumption latter, with a meal somewhere in there, I started to actually think straight again. I have never been that dehydrated before in my life. I guess the combination of standing around on the black top all day long, and going back and forth between the air conditioned building and the out side heat, was more than my body could take. When I went to bed that night, I still felt really weak. So when I woke up this morning, I called in sick to take a day to recuperate. No sence and risking doing it again and making it worse.

I guess I should have had a water bottle to my “councilor’s bag of tricks” that I’ve been working on. I really don’t want a repeat of this incident.

~ by trinity777 on November 8, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
