Another Day trying to find a Job


Posted Tuesday, February 8, 2005, 11:13 AM

I have been unemployed for over two months now. I understand now why people who have been unemployed for a length of time start to loose hope. You can only hear words like “no” or “sorry put your just not qualified” so many times before you start see it as a reflection of your own character and personality. Add to the top of that, the fact that people keep saying things like “but you have your college degree, how hard can it be to get highered”, and you really start to feel like crap.

I guess the truth is that I bought into a lie when I was in high school. I was told that if you work hard, go to college, get your degree, you can get do anything you want. That may be true for some people, but I don’t think that’s necessarily the way it works. No on ever told us about how high unemployment rates change all of that. Now, your luck to get a job if you only have a bachelor’s degree. You have to have a master’s to get a job that is worth anything.

Maybe that’s the thing. There is a difference between getting a job, and getting a job that is worthwhile. My father has worked in a factory all his life. My brother has never express and interest in anything other than working for the same plant as my Father since he was in Jr. High. But I always assumed that I was capable of more. That is not a dig or a slam against the way my Father has earned his living. He worked his a#$ off for years so that his family would not have to worry about anything. But I know that I can do so much more than work on an assembly line.

I was lied to. I was told that I could do anything I wanted it I put my mind to it. That’s not true. You can do anything you want, if you have the money to pay for the education or to buy your way in. Maybe I’m just bitter, and any one who knows me knows that I would never be bitter . Maybe I’m just feeling sorry for myself. But the only job I qualify for right now is to flip meet by-product at a fast food place, or to work at a department store. I went to college so that I could do something with my life that meant something.

Anyone who knows anyone highering for a Customer Service or Technical Support position, please let me know. I’m going to go insane soon if I don’t get a job. Either because I settled for a job that will drive me to insanity, or because I just lost it one day when I received the last rejection notice.

Deep cleansing, self-actualizing breath. And now I feel better.

~ by trinity777 on November 8, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
