Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire


Posted Wednesday, July 13, 2005, 12:12 AM

My Fiancé and I just finished rereading this book. I love the Harry Potter series. J.K. Rowling has created a great fantasy universe that mixes so well with life as we know it. I like stories that take place in the near present day, but have a whole world that happens be hind the scenes that takes place while we go about our daily lives.

This book is not my favorite of the series, but it is an extremely important book for the story line. I think this book rates at #2 on my list currently. You get the chance to see how Harry Deals with the fact that he has learn to do things on his own. Yes, he can get help from his friends, but when it comes time to get the job done this time around he is on his own. And I love the interplay between the Ron and Hermione characters in this book. I don’t know where Rowling is going in terms of the Harry, Ron, Hermione triangle, but I keep reminding myself that this is a story about kids who have more important things to worry about then who they are going to go out with. This book also doe a great job of showing adolescent teenagers going though the awkwardness that is regular life, in spite of the fact that the are all faced with a variety of challenges ever step of the way.

This is a great book, but be warned. I would not let my non-teenage child read it alone. It would be a great book to read to our child/children, but there are some very dark and very scary things that happen in this book. But any teenager could benefit from seeing how important friendship is, how important it is to do the right thing, and that life really can be enjoyable in the midst of turmoil. This is a book about a teenage boy, who deals with his lot in life as best as he can.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
J.K. Rowling
Scholastic
ISBN# 0-439-13959-7

~ by trinity777 on November 8, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
