I Had No Idea I Read this Much


Posted Saturday, October 21, 2006, 10:20 AM

I read a lot. Well, I read more than the average person…or so I’m told. A friend of mine has a goal to read 12 books in 2006. When I read that my first reaction was, “that’s it?” So I started counting the books I have read since January of this year, and here is what I remember reading:

American God’s, by Neil Gaiman
She’s Come Undone, by Wally Lamb
At Close of Day, Joe Bentz
Naked, By David Sadaris
A Book of Common Prayer, by Joan Didion
Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card
Speaker for the Dead, by Orson Scott Card
When God Takes Too Long, By Joe Bentz
Treasure Island, by Robert Louis Stevenson
The Davinci Code, by Dan Brown
This Present Darkness, by Frank Pareti
Piercing the Darkness, by Frank Pareti
Wicked, by Gregory McGuire
The Alchemist, by Paulo Coelho
Inferno, by Dante
Wheel of Time books 1-6, by Robert Jodan

And it’s only October, I still have two months left to the year. This is not a brag, this is just an observation. I did not get to read all the books I’ve wanted to so far this year, but I did make a good effort to vary the kind of books I read. I have a couple of classics in there, some SiFi, a good portion of fantasy, but I also have some other stuff mixed in there as well. So, I think my goal for next year should be to read 28 books and only allow for half of those to be fantasy.

BTW, I recommend all of these books, with the exception of Davinci Code as it was really kind of a stretch in a lot of the plot areas. Do not read the Robert Jordan Wheel of Time Serries unless you are willing to read all 12 books (book twelve is slated to be release in fall of 2007).

~ by trinity777 on November 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
