Naked: By David Sadaris


Posted Friday, March 3, 2006, 12:52 PM

I read this book at the recommendation of my wife, and a few of her friends. There friends are always quoting other of David Sadaris’ works, and he is really funny. I sat down and expected to read something that was a fun retelling of child hood memories, and recalling of odd and funny times. I was not disappointed, and did have a number laughs while I was reading this one. Growing up and realizing you’re a homosexual at an early age can make for some very comical moments.
One the same note it can make for some very hard times as well. There are a lot of points in the book where I was really kind of shocked about where some to the stories ended up. There is also a bitter edge to the voice of the book, especially when talking about his mother. There is a very distinct tone of reverence, yet at the same time a resigned hatred of what she put up with while the author was a kid. Yet, in the middle of dark stories, there are these really funny moments of almost happiness that made me keep wanting to read more.
I don’t think I would recommend this book to very many people. David Sadaris is a good writer, but this book is a little dark. Not the funny kind of dark, but the “this feels a little uncomfortable” kind of dark. I actually walked away from the book a little depressed, but also feeling really grateful for the upbringing that I had. Not the best book I’ve ever read, but it was OK.

Naked
David Sadaris

~ by trinity777 on November 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
