Pride for Lunch Anyone?


Posted Thursday, August 17, 2006, 08:45 PM

Tomorrow I’m going to have an interesting meal for lunch. It’s called hot steamy pride with a side of groveling. Now, one may think that sounds odd, but in my case it is something I should have done a while ago.

Let me back up. Two years ago I was fired from my job because of a lie I told. 100% my fault, and I am willing to fess up to it now. I’m not proud of what I did. In fact, I’ve kicked myself in the arse everyday since. When you are a manager, and the only person who has oversight over a department with no checks and balances, trust is the only thing your reputation is based on. My supervisor had not choice but to let me go. And I would have done the same if I were him.

Flash forward to tomorrow. Tomorrow I am having lunch with the director who authorized my termination. My purpose: to beg for a job in his department. There is a tech support position open and I am going to throw everything I have in myself at getting it. The pay will not only be much higher than I am making right now, but I will also be able to afford to have both my wife and I covered by health insurance. I need this Job.

I don’t know if I will be successful. In fact, my previous history has been well documented in the blog about how I never get jobs that I apply for. But this is not just about getting a new job. This is about burying a hatchet. This is about me getting closure on something that has pained me for the last two years. If I can get back in at my hold Job, I will have taken a step forward this time instead of sideways or backwards. And from that point I may actually get ahead.

I pray that tomorrow goes well.

~ by trinity777 on November 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
