She’s Come Undone By Wally Lamb


Posting Tuesday, January 31, 2006, 04:38 PM

Once in a while I allow people who are close to me recommend a book. I’m always nervous when they do this because I’m very picky about what I read. My Library has recently be more than doubled, do this wonderful thing called Marriage. As such, I decided to pick up this book because it is my wife’s favorite fiction book. I was very surprised to find that I liked this book.

She’s Come Undone follows the like of a girl named Dolores as she goes through her entire life. (Yes, this is a chick book) The one word of warning that my wife gave me is that this is not a happy book. And she was right. Dolores give a first person account of her life, with out holding any punches. Her father makes a living by having an affair with a rich woman when Dolores is very young, which leads to her parents divorce. She is rapped when she is a teenager, by a man her mother is having an affair with and who also lives in the upstairs room that they are renting out. And the story tracks as she tries to pull her life together over and over again, until she finally hits rock bottom.

I imagine that most women who read this book need a box or two of tissues to get through it. If that is so, my wife and I hart heartless because we did not shed one tear. I like this book because it was so honest and accessible. I hate it when I have to read through jargon or excessive pages of description in order for an author to get an idea across. Wally Lamb is simple and powerful in the way that he just puts you in Dolores’s shoes. In fact, I though the author was a woman until I go the end and saw his picture on the cover. That is how realistically he writes the character as she goes through some very issues and emotions that are only experienced by women.

I recommend this book to anyone who can take an in your face presentation of a person’s decent into misery and heartache. All I can tell you is that if you put in the effort to walk with Delores through the whole ordeal that is her life, the ending is richly rewarding. But this book is not for the faint of heart, nor those who have to have warm fuzzys in order to feel good about a book.

She’s Come Undone
Wally Lamb
ISBN 0-671-00375-5

~ by trinity777 on November 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
