Something Cool this Way Comes


Posted Monday, May 15, 2006, 03:04 PM

My wife and I love to go to the Renaissance Pleasure Fair every year. We enjoy it so much that, if finances allow, we go many times and to many different fairs in the same year. We go with our friends sometimes, or by our selves, we even stopped by one for our Honeymoon. It is safe to say that we are Ren Fair people. It is something we enjoy doing, and part of my secretly wishes that I was one of the “Ren Fair Folk”.

“Ren Fair Folk” are the people who not only go to the fair, but they live at the fair. There are groups of people, usually called clans or houses, who come to the fair and do demonstrations because that is just what they do for fun. These people have the same attention to detail and love for the time period as any one who takes part in a Civil War reenactment or such. They know the language of the period, they ware only period cloths, and eat and sleep as if they were living in the period while their group spend the night at the fair grounds. They are also know to be only slightly more reputable than carnival workers, and in some circles that is pushing it.

Despite this social outcast status, I have a secret desire to be one of these freaks. I would love to carry a sword at my side that I actually knew how to use. I would love to spend a weekend or two roughing it like they used to in the military camps of the day. I would love to have an excuse to beat the crap out of some guy in armor in a live steel mock battle. Something about it cries out to the inner barbarian inside of me and says, “that would be so cool!”

I’m sitting on the couch the other day and my wife looks over at me and says, “I need a name for the Bells of Bedlam website.” The Bells are one of our favorite music groups that perform at the Fair. They perform mainly at the NC-17 stage, and sing songs about drinking, sex, adultery, and other such family value subjects. We’ve had occasion to actually see them at places other than the Ren Fair, and absolutely love their sound. The group is all women, and they really are very talented. So, naturally, my wife going to their web page and posting something to their fan site was totally normal and went without any question in my mind.

My wife sits down next to me and asks me, “What would you say I I could become one of the Bells?”

I sat there and watched as a dozen responses flashed through my head. But the one that left my mouth was something like this:

“You mean, one of the Bells of Bedlam?”
“Yes.”
“At the Ren Fair?”
“Yes.”
“Singing songs about drinking, sex, orgasms, and other thins that can’t be done in the presence of small children?”
“The same.”
“Well,” I said. “Would you be able to us a discounts at vendors in the Fair?”
“I don’t know,” she laughed.
“I think I would have no objections to is at all.”
“Really,” she asked surprised.
“Yes.”
“Your OK with me singing those kinds of songs?”
“Yes.”
“To drunk people?”
“Yeah.”
“Who may put tips and money in my cleavage?”
I paused for a second at that, looked at my wife’s surprised face, and found myself saying, “Yeah. I know who’s bed you’ll be coming home to every night.”

So my wife is auditioning for her fist professional music group. She is excited, I’m excited, and we both really are looking forward to seeing how it turns out. Who would have thought I’d marry a woman who drinks better than I, Loves the Ren Fair as much as I, and could be singing ins a professional group soon? Not I. Now we both need to learn ho to speak with an Irish Accent. This could be a very fun experience for us both.

See the Bells of Bedlam web page at http://www.bellesofbedlam.com

~ by trinity777 on November 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
