The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe


Posted Monday, November 14, 2005, 04:17 PM

Right on the coat tails of the Lord of the Rings moves, the Chronicles of Narnia are being put into production, with the first to be released in early December. That being the case, my wife and I have decided to start reading the Chronicles. I have not read them since I was in elementary school, and did not understand most of what I was reading at the time. Teresa has to read a few of them for a class she took in college, but that was a while ago. All that to say, I was ready to jump right into the world of Narania, and try to remember all the stuff I forgot.

Those who hated the Lord of the Rings because it was boring, spent too much time talking about the appearance of trees and mountains, and had so little happen for such a long story, will be happy to read any of the Chronicles. C.S. Lewis is the polar opposite of Tolkin. The entire story of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, only has thirteen chapters, and takes up about 200 pages with pictures. But the cool part is that it only takes that many pages to become introduced to Narnia, and to tell a simple yet dramatic story.

I liked, and did not like this book. I liked it because Lewis did not spend time on something unless it was important. If something was described it was important to the story. And the really cool part about this book is that is written like the author is having a conversation with you. There are even points where the narrator and the readers have a few privet jokes between them, that the characters do not know about. This is very different from other fantasy books that feel like they are being recited by some court bard in some form of high chant. Simply put, this book was simple and easy to access.

What I did not like about this book is it left me asking too many questions. One of my big flaws as a reader and fan of fantasy in particular, is I love a good character that is developed. When I read the Lord of the Rings, or the Wheel of Time books, I feel like I am personally invested in a particular character. I care weather or not the person succeeds or is killed. I don’t have that feeling with the characters in this book. Honestly, I feel like I’m listening to a story being told around a camp fire, that kind that does not have to be developed only make a good point. And this book certainly does make excellent points, but it is just not the kind of book I enjoy the most.

That having been said, read this book. It was good. I just want to know how on earth they are going to turn this book into a movie. They are going to have to create a lot of dialogue to make it fit into a two hour format. This book is that concise and compact, that I don’t know if they can do it straight forward (where as they had to leave whole story lines out the Lord of the Rings to keep it under three hours each movie).

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
C.S. Lewis
ISBN 0-06-447104-7

~ by trinity777 on November 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
