Three Years allready!


Posted Wednesday, July 5, 2006, 12:09 PM

My wife and I did the math yesterday, and realized that it was three short years ago that we started to date officially. I say “officially” because we were just in denial about dating up till that point. Our friends would keep telling us that we were dating, but we kept insisting that we were just friends. We decided that we should just call it what it was, and the next weekend spent time with our friends in Santa Barbra on vacation.

It kind of blows my mind. Three years ago I was living on fast food, living with 4 other guys, playing video games till my eyes hurt, and really only thought of myself. Now I actually have learned how to cook, I play board games and card games, and try everyday to give my wife the best I can. They say that marriage is the death of a man, and I think that is almost right. Marriage is the death of a young man who still has a lot of growing to do personally. Marriage forces us to think of others as more important than ourselves, and to learn how to live as a unit instead of individuals. If getting married is death, than marriage is the afterlife.

Marriage has taught me some very important things about myself, and everyday I learn something new. I’ve realized that life, not just my marriage, requires a very important skill in order to be successful. This skill is not easy to develop, and for me is one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to learn. Learning from my mistakes by first admitting when I am wrong, and then actually doing something to make sure I don’t do it again. Talk about a blow to my pride! I hate admitting that I’m wrong. But then again, that is what is required for a person to “grow up”.

Am I growing up? Slowly, surely, I am. But am I any less fun? I think not. In fact I have become more fun ever since my wife entered my life. She has taught me some amazing stuff about myself, and about life, that have made me even more fun that I was before. I like my life. Really, there are things that could be much better, but life over all is a good thing.

~ by trinity777 on November 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
