Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog: Thank You Writer’s Strike!


If you do not know who Joss Whedon is, then you are either over the age of 50, or have no connection to the pop culture of the last 10 years. What happens when the creator/writer/director of such things as “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”, “Angle”, “Firefly”, “Alien Resurrection”, and the soon to be released “Doll House,” is confronted by a pesky thing called the Writer’s Strike. Will he break union policy and cross picket lines? Will he be spotted on the picket lines trying further the writer’s cause? Will he be found trying to rally around some kind of movement to bring an end to the writer’s stand off with the TV studios? Are you kidding? He’s a writer, not a fighter.

So while most of Hollywood was at a stand still until the writer’s strike was resolved, Joss got together with a few of his friends…ok a lot of his friends…and independently produced the most downloaded TV series to appear on Apple Inc.’s iTunes. All paid for out of his own pocket, and writen by himself a few of his close friend and family, he create a three part production called “Dr Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog”. How does this relate to me?

I was checking my e-mail the other day (yeah, I know, that is such a rare event that some of you think I hand out a fake address to even my friends, but I’m mid thought and now is not the time for bitter digressions down a rabbit trail; besides rabbits are evil). While I was sorting though a massive amount of e-mail from my various auto bill pay sources, I found a friend of mine had sent me an iTunes Gift Certificate to download Dr. Horrible for free. The same friend who lent me all of her DVD season of Buffy so that I could subject my wife to one of my most sinful indulgences of my College years. She rolled her eyes, so I waited to I had a night where I could watch my gift in peace.

At the opening screen I was hooked. What is more funny than seeing Dougie Houser M.D., Dressed in a lab coat that could have been borrowed from Dexter’s Laboratory, reading his fan e-mail over his video blog, discussing how “Captian Hammer” has thwarted his attempts at crime, yet again? When I stopped laughing, and watched the rest of the three acts, I found myself very glad that I had been exposed to this great adventure. All the major themes of a cheesy, low budget, SciFi project, wrapped in a witty musical format that hearkens back to the “Once More With Feeling” episode of Buffy. Aspiring Evil Mad Scientist seeking to be accepted in the Evil community, has crush for girl he sees every week while doing his laundry at the laundry mat, and looses her to his arch nemesis do-gooder rival who is really just a big jerk how want the girl for one thing. Again, I ask, what’s not to like about this?

So if you like any of Joss Whedon’s work, take a gander at Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog and see what you think about it. I know that I enjoyed myself.

~ by trinity777 on August 7, 2008.

2 Responses to “Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog: Thank You Writer’s Strike!”

  1. Hey! A lot of us over 50’s have been admiring Joss’s genius for many many years! 🙂

  2. I apologize, not disrespect intended. Thanks for reading my bog!

Leave a Reply

 
