Finding a New Job Sucks!


I forgot what it is like to try to find a job. It’s like I spend a good portion of my time thinking about how I can present my self to these people who don’t know me, and hope that they will bestow on me the honor of working for them. It makes me feel self conscious, superficial, and kind of shallow to try to sell myself as if I were just another product for some consumer to buy.

Anyway…I got turned down for the first company I’ve interview for, and have not heard back from any of the others I’ve applied for. I’m sure that this has something to do with it being the holiday season and all, but I’m starting to get a little edgy. I think my time is running out to find a new source of income. Currently I am doing some privet consulting for my old company, but that is not going to last for very long. Once that runs out, I have no income. So I’m a little worried.

Have you noticed how many job search engines are out there? There is Monster, HotJobs, Career Finder, Dice, and those are just the search engines. Don’t forget sites like Craig’s List and other public posting forums. And then, once you are singed up for these great services, you find out that a lot of them have the same job postings for the field you are looking for. So while you spend time filling out application after application on line, you get to the end and realize that you’ve already applied for it. And in the process, have had to thwart at least five attempts to sell your contact information to the University of Phoenix to further your education. There has got to be an easier way of doing this.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I moved to North Carolina, but I get the feeling that this is going to be a problem if I have only been able to land one interview in the three weeks I’ve been here.

~ by trinity777 on December 31, 2008.

2 Responses to “Finding a New Job Sucks!”

  1. Have you tried using LinkedIn yet? I found a job very quickly by setting up a profile there and contacting people using their service. It’s like a myspace profile for business people that many companies actually really appreciate you having.

  2. Thanks for the tip. I visited your blog as well, and it’s a nice set up. I did not spend much time there, but I can tell that it is a place I will definitely return to when I have time to spend a few hours on just my Resume and stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
