First Week is Over


So I completed my first full week of work for my new employer. Imagine is a company that makes a software package designed to help correctly bill medical services. What do I know about medical billing…absolutely nothing. But, thankfully I do know a bit about how to do tech support.

So how did my first week go? Really well. Apparently the annual users conference was held on Monday and Tuesday, so there was hardly anyone in the office to meet. I was given a large amount of reading to start with, and asked to shadow some people to get an idea of the process of how tech support is handled at imagine. Wednesday was a little bit different. I was given a hard copy of the user’s manual for the main portion of the product I will be supporting. It was over 1300 pages long. So I was a little over whelmed at the prospect of having to get all that information shoved inside my head as fast as possible.

All in all, the week went very smoothly. My boss is a great guy who, in the short time I’ve been there, has shown a great ability to be friendly but still crack the whip when needed. The ladies I work with (yes, beside from my boss I am the only other male in the department) are all cool and easy going. I feel like I was welcomed in as part of the team.

What am I worried about…not knowing what to worry about. On the one hand I’m a little intimidated by the amount of information being thrown at me. On the other hand, most of what I’m having to learn really has to do with the process of getting a procedure billed, and paid for, because it is complicated when you try to get insurance companies to pay for something. I’m sure that I will do very well, once I have had a few weeks to get the terminology and processes down.

So it was a great week of work. I can’t wait to see where this goes.

~ by trinity777 on April 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
